In this section

Share this page

Microsoft Certified Professional Developer (MCPD)

microsoft logo small

Professional Series credentials validate a comprehensive set of skills required to be successful on the job. These skills include design, project management, operations management, and planning, and they are contextual to the job role. By validating a more comprehensive set of skills, these credentials give candidates and their hiring managers a reliable indicator of on-the-job performance. 

The Professional Series Certifications:

  • Typically consist of one to three exams.
  • Have one or more prerequisites from the Technology Series. 
  • Are focused on single job role.
  • Require recertification to maintain active status.

The Microsoft Certified Professional Developer (MCPD) credential highlights your job role, featuring your specific area of expertise. Now you can easily distinguish yourself as an expert in Windows development, Web application development, or enterprise applications development. There are three MCPD certification paths:  

MCPD on Microsoft Visual Studio 2010

If you plan to develop applications by using Visual Studio 2010 and the Microsoft .NET Framework 4.0, the Microsoft Certified Professional Developer (MCPD) on Visual Studio 2010 certifications can help you validate your skills and abilities. You should have two to three years of experience using the technologies covered in the exam. The available certification paths include the following: 

MCPD on Microsoft SharePoint 2010

If you design and develop applications on the Microsoft SharePoint Server 2010 platform, consider earning the MCPD: SharePoint Developer 2010 certification 

For upgrade paths, please see the Microsoft website. For information on how to upgrade your MCPD certification to an MCSD Certification, please follow this guide.